SAHA Staff

An insight into the SAHA team

The current team is made up of five core staff members and one intern, who between them hold various degrees and diplomas in disciplines including law, library and information studies, international relations, project management, history, museum & heritage studies, political science, economics and tax. The team speaks, between them, nine of South Africa's official languages, with some also conversant in Japanese, German and Shona. The team members have spent time working as far and wide as England, Japan and Canada, and among them they have travelled to a total of 35 countries.


The SAHA team




Dr Geraldine Frieslaar, Director, SFJP Coordinator

Geraldine holds a PhD in History, M.A degree (cum laude) in Public and Visual History, Postgraduate Diploma in Museum and Heritage Studies from the University of the Western Cape, (UWC), and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in International Relations from the University of Stellenbosch. Geraldine started work as a teacher in Japan, before moving to the Holocaust Centre in Cape Town as an education assistant, then to the District Six Museum as a researcher and subsequently to the UWC-Robben Island Museum Mayibuye Archives, where she worked as an archivist and completed her doctoral dissertation on the International Defence and Aid Fund archival collection housed at the Mayibuye Archives. Her research and professional interests are the cultivation of critical citizenship and advocacy for social justice through archival activism. 





Zandile Nkumane, Support Service Intern

Zandile recently joined SAHA as a Support Services Intern in September 2017 intake. She holds a B Com degree in Supply Chain Management, Human Resources Management and Economics from the University of KwaZulu- Natal and her career interest focuses more on economic development and equality in South Africa. She strongly believes this opportunity will enable her to make contributions in the civil society in the aspects of ethical procurement and finance processes. 




Freedom of Information Programme (FOIP)

Nonhlanhla Khumalo, FOIP Intern

Nonhlanhla joins SAHA as FOIP Intern for the March 2017 intake. She is currently enrolled with the University of Johannesburg in the LLM- Human Rights Law programme and is in the second year of the LLM programme. She believes that this opportunity will help her grow into an aspiring legal professional and will also enable her to make contributions to the civil society in matters relating to social justice and public interest law.



Struggles for Justice (SFJ) Programme


 Nonhlanhla Ngwenya, Archival Assistant


Nonhlanhla Ngwenya, Archival Assistant

Nonhlanhla Ngwenya is the Archival Assistant of SAHA’s Struggle for Justice Programme (SFJP), she joined SAHA in 2010 as a community intern for the Entering Tembisa Oral and Photographic History Project.


Inez McGregor

Inez McGregor, Archival Assistant (RTT Project)

Inez completed her studies at the University of Cape Town in 2015. She has a PgDip in Library and Information Studies preceded by Honours in Historical Studies, and a BA in Economics, Classical Studies and Economic History. She is passionate about history and the role of archives in contributing to South Africa’s heritage and historical narratives. She joined SAHA as an intern in January 2016. 




Consultants / Contractors 



         Nozipho Mahlangu - Consulting Bookkeeper





         Mumsy Malinga - Facilitator (History education







  Michelle Friedman - Facilitator (History education workshops)



         Vaughn Sadie - Consultant (Exhibitions)






Frances Andrew - Consultant (Struggle t-shirt project)


Send a general enquiry to SAHA

Send an enquiry to the Freedom of Information Programme

Send an enquiry to the SFJ archival team

Contact Details
Tel: +27 (0) 11 718 2560
Fax: +27 (0) 865 001 600
Postal Address
Box 31719
Visiting SAHA?
SAHA is based at Constitution Hill, within the Nursery Section of the former Women's Jail, on 1 Kotze Street, Braamfontein, Johannesburg.