Home About Themes Gallery Library Timeline Glossary Links Copyright


Use the zoom controls on the timeline to see more detail.
Select individual dates on the timeline to see more information.
04 June 1948
The National Party comes into power and introduces apartheid laws.
Both the Freedom Charter and the Women's Charter are drafted in the duration of this period.
The year of the Defiance Campaign.
Featured Items
17 April 1954
The Women's Charter is launched at the FEDSAW inaugural conference.
Featured Items
17 April 1954
FEDSAW is formed.
Featured Items
Blacksash is formed. This was an organisation of white women who protested against changes in the constitution that removed the right of Coloured people to vote. They later became active in providing support to people who were arrested for pass laws and other injustices.
09 August 1956
The infamous women's march takes place. More than 20 000 women of all races from across the country marched to the Union Buildings in Pretoria to hand over a petition against Pass Laws.
British Prime Minister Harold Macmillan speaks of "winds of change" sweeping through Africa.
Featured Items
21 March 1960
The Sharpeville Massacre takes place, leaving 69 people dead and 180 injured.
Featured Items
07 April 1960
The ANCWL is banned.
July 1961
The MK leadership is arrested at an underground operation base, Liliesleaf Farm in Rivonia near Johannesburg.
Ruth First serves 117 days in solitary confinement becoming the first white woman to be detained under the 90-day Detention Law.
26 November 1963
The Rivonia Trial begins.
12 June 1964
8 of the defendants in the Rivonia trial who were arrested at Liliesleaf Farm are found guilty and sentenced to life imprisonment. They were Nelson Mandela, Govan Mbeki, Raymond Mhlaba, Dennis Goldberg, Ahmed Kathrada, Elias Motsoaledi, Andrew Mlangeni and Walter Sisulu. This also marked the end of the Rivonia Trial.
Winnie Madikizela-Mandela spends 18 months in solitary confinement at Pretoria Central Prison under the 90-day Detention Law.
November 1978
Ruth First takes up a research post at Eduardo Mondlane University in Mozambique where she was assassinated four years later.
14 September 1981
ANC President, O. R. Tambo speaks about challenges facing the women of South Africa in Luanda, Angola.
17 August 1982
Ruth First is assassinated with a letter bomb.
Featured Items
20 August 1983
The United Democratic Front is launched.
Featured Items
22 September 1983
The notorious 1983 constitution is introduced. It calls for a Tricameral parliament in which there would be three houses representing Whites, Indians and Coloureds with Blacks excluded.
07 November 1984
FEDTRAW Conference of 1984 Begins and ends on the 9th.
09 August 1990
The first ANCWL newsletter titled 'The Rock' is published.
December 1993
Winnie Madikizela-Mandela is elected President of the ANCWL at its relaunch since its banning in 1960.
11 May 1994
Dr. Frene Ginwala becomes the speaker of the first democratic parliament, serves two terms under president Nelson Mandela and Thabo Mbeki, leaving the position in 2004.
© SAHA 2024 Disclaimer Privacy Policy