23 May 2013

OGP: Update on membership

On 13 April 2013, a year after they had sent a letter of interest in the partnership, Russia sent a letter citing its intention to withdraw from the body. Reasons for the withdrawal are still unknown.

Ireland and Australia

In mid-May the partnership received a letter of intent to join the partnership from Ireland's Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, Mr. Brendan Howlin TD.

 Australia has also, through its Minister of foreign affairs, sent a letter of intention to join the partnership.

The Open Government Partnership launched in September of 2011, is a multilateral initiative that aims to secure concrete commitments from governments to promote transparency, empower citizens, fight corruption, and harness new technologies to strengthen governance.

The initiative started by 8 founding governments (Brazil, Indonesia, Mexico, Norway, Philippines, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States) endorsed an Open Government Declaration, and announced their country action plans.

For a country to become a member of OGP, the country "must embrace a high-level Open Government Declaration; deliver a country action plan developed with public consultation; and commit to independent reporting on their progress going forward."

Until recently the platform had membership of 59 countries - all fully engaged and or having sent letters of intent to join the movement.