AL2547 :: The SAHA Original Photograph Collection

Collection No: AL2547
Title: The SAHA Original Photograph Collection
Creator: Inventory prepared by Kate Abbot, updated by Debora Matthews, July 2009
Origination: Julie Frederikse
Publisher: SAHA
Inclusive Dates: 1930-1990
Bulk Dates: 1980-1990
Extent: 1210 photographs (stored in 4 drawer metal cabinet); also digitised
Language: English
Acquisition: Accession Number: 91-008
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research
Use Restrictions: Copyright is held by individual photographers. Copyright restrictions may apply. See SAHA copyright statement for Use Restrictions.
Copyright: Finding Aid: © The South African History Archive (SAHA)
Created: 23 July 2009
Abstract: This collection was opened by Julie Frederikse while she began researching her book The Unbreakable Thread: Non-Racialism in South Africa. The photographs she gathered, numbering over 1200, form the bulk of this collection. Captured by photographers from Afrapix and International Defence and Aid Fund (IDAF), and other photographers of the time, this collection of 'struggle photography' is a visual document of South Africa's turbulent political past, and include topics such as: African National Congress, Conscription, Education, Elections, Funerals, Labour, Living Conditions, Military and Police, National Party, Protests, Transvaal Indian Congress, Resistance, and Unrest. Photographers whose work are represented in this collection are: Abdul Shariff, Adil Bradlow, Anna Zieminski, Aron Mazel, Benny Gool, Billy Paddock, Bruce Gillespie, Cedric Nunn, Chris Ledochowski, Chris Qwazi, Dave Hartman, Dimitris Sivyllis, E. Mboweni, Eli Weinberg, Eric Miller, Gideon Mendel, Gille de Vlieg, Gisele Wulfsohn, Graeme Williams, Guy Tillim, Howard Barrell, Jeeva Rajgopaul, Jimi Matthews, Justin Sholk, L. Sols, Lesley Lawson, Mamode Moussadjee, Marc Vanappelghem, Mary Benson, Mike Hutchings, Mike Mzileni, Myron Peters, Noel Watson, Omar Badsha, Orde Eliason, Pat Devereaux, Paul Grendon, Paul Weinberg, Peter Auf Der Heyde, Peter Magubane, Peter McKenzie, Rafs Mayet, Rashid Lombard, Rodger Bosch, Roger Meintjies, Sam Nzima, Sandy Smit, Santu Mofokeng, Steve Hilton-Barber, Tessa Colvin, Warren Parker, Wendy Schwegmann, William Motlala, Willie de Klerk, Zubeida Vallie.
Please login, or register with SAHA, to view or download a detailed description of this collection
Username Password > LOGIN > REGISTER