AL3296 :: The Shifty Records Project Collection

Collection No: AL3296
Title: The Shifty Records Project Collection
Creator: Debora Matthews
Origination: Lloyd Ross; The South African History Archive (SAHA)
Inclusive Dates: 1979-2014
Bulk Dates: 1985-1990
Language: English and Afrikaans
Acquisition: AR12/036; AR14/013; AR14/029; AR14/045 AR14/052; AR14/062; AR14/063; AR14/064; AR14/065; AR14/066; AR14/072; AR14/083; AR14/086; AR14/087; AR14/089; AR14/090; AR14/097; AR14/106; AR14/107; AR14/108; AR14/109
Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research
Use Restrictions: User restrictions may apply
Created: 29 August 2014
Abstract: Series A of this collection is now lodged with the Africa Open Institute (AOI) for Music, Research and Innovation, an independent and autonomous interdisciplinary institute in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at Stellenbosch University. The Shifty Archive is part of the AOI's Hidden Years Project.

The Shifty Records Project collection consists of the endangered archives of Shifty Records donated by Shifty founder Lloyd Ross and include archival material relating to artists André Letoit (also as Koos Kombuis); Corporal Punishment; Draadloos; Illegal Gathering; James Phillips (also as Bernoldus Niemand); Johannes Kerkorrel en die Gereformeerde Blues Band; Kalahari Surfers; Jennifer Ferguson; Radio Rats; Kgwanyape Band; Simba Morri; Cherry Faced Lurchers; Mzwakhe Mbuli; Sankomota; National Wake; Tananas; Fosatu Workers Choirs; Aeroplanes; Softies; Koos; Lesego Rampolokeng; Jo’burg City Stars; Noise Khanyile Vusi Mahlasela; Die Kêrels; Genuines; Urban Creep; Van der Want and Letcher; Robin Auld; Tony Cox; Isja; Khaki Monitor; Warrick Sony; Winston’s Jive Mixup; Roger Lucey; K-Team and others. The collection also documents the emergence of the so-called Alternative Afrikaans Music Movement (AAMM) and the Voëlvry tour, as well as Shifty Records' involvement with trade unions and the End Conscription Campaign (ECC). Oral history interviews conducted by Michael Drewett on behalf of SAHA form part of the collection, as well as materials relating to music and censorship during the 1980s.
Please login, or register with SAHA, to view or download a detailed description of this collection
Username Password > LOGIN > REGISTER